Hello Bathroom Lady

Ever run into a crazy person in close quarters?  Somewhere you can’t escape even if you wanted to?  This happened to me recently.

I was at an early morning meeting all the way on the other side of town (read – I had to wake up before the ass crack of dawn was even a thing) and had just gone into the restroom to wash my hands after eating some yummy and sticky breakfast treat.  I didn’t want to be there because it was super early in the morning and I knew it was going to be one of those meetings.  The ones that end up a bitch session and zero progress is made on the issue at hand.  Yeah…

Anyway, I go into the bathroom and there is a striking and eccentric looking woman who is fixing herself up in the mirror.  Everything about her screamed over the top… her hair, her clothing, her jewelry, her bags… she drew your attention and really filled the space.  So naturally I opened my mouth and complimented her on one of her rings.

“What’s wrong, honey?”  Was her reply.  I was in a sharing mood and was trying to avoid my meeting anyway, told I her about the meeting that was about to begin and that I hadn’t slept well because of my kids.

“That isn’t it.  There is something else going on in your life that is draining your energy.  You are in a relationship that is causing you stress…”  Ummm….. OK…. Backing away slowly.  I’m stuck in the bathroom with this woman… what do I do?  Do I hide in a stall?  She is probably one of those people who will talk to you when you are peeing… that won’t make this any less awkward.  She is between me and the door, knocking her over and running away isn’t really an option either (especially with my meeting right across the hall).

She keeps talking, telling me she is a life coach, that she has a gift, that something about me made her talk to me.  I start to panic.

“Starting over wouldn’t be the worst thing in the world,” she says “you are a positive person but there is something in your life that is holding you back.  You need to let that go.”

And just like that she is gone.

Since that morning I have been thinking about this interaction, I have been thinking about what she had to say, and I have been thinking about my life.

There is some truth in what she had to say.  There are a lot of forces in my life that are preventing me from being all that I can be, that are keeping me wrapped in negativity.  Bat shit crazy or not, I do think it was something that I needed to hear.  I needed a reminder that I need to learn to let things go.  I needed a reminder that I can’t let external forces bring me down.  I need to stay positive, for myself.

Maybe her gift wasn’t that far off after all.

photo credit: “Women Only” by Dick Vos licensed under CC BY 4.0

3 thoughts on “Hello Bathroom Lady

  1. Yes, but at the same time, for a random person to walk up and feel entitled to tell you that they feel they have some amazing nugget of wisdom to share with you about your life is kind of wrong. I’d be creeped out, too. It’s like actually believing what’s written on fortune cookies.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Being cornered in a bathroom sounds like a very uncomfortable situation! While her approach was unconventional, it’s good that you found a way to benefit from it. Considering that she works as a life coach she probably just wanted to send some positive vibes your way! (I know a few people like this) At least she kept it short and sweet!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

